T20 World Cup set to start on Sunday

A representational image. — ICC
A representational picture. — ICC

MUSCAT: In the standard environment of Al Amerat with Oman and Papua New Guinea decided to not be diminished to the position of warm-up acts on the world showpiece, the 2 nations will get the Twenty 20 World Cup underway on Sunday.

Originally scheduled to happen in Australia after which India, earlier than being chased out of each by COVID-19, the seventh version of the occasion begins with a double-header on the 3,000-seat venue exterior Muscat.

Later Sunday, Bangladesh face Scotland earlier than Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands and 2010 champions Sri Lanka be part of the fray on Monday.

The eight groups within the first spherical of qualifying are chasing 4 locations within the Super 12 round-robin stage.

England, Australia, South Africa, defending champions West Indies, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan might be ready with all matches in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The high 4 will then progress to the semi-finals earlier than the ultimate in Dubai on November 14.

There is lots at stake for the groups having to qualify.

A spot within the subsequent spherical ensures a spot within the 2022 T20 World Cup.

There can also be a monetary incentive. Teams exiting on the first hurdle take home a modest $40,000 (34,500 euros) with the identical quantity awarded for every victory.

The eventual champions pocket a $1.6 million winner’s cheque.

Oman are taking part in of their second T20 World Cup having shocked Ireland on the 2016 event.

Their group is made up almost completely of semi-professional South Asian expatriates who mix cricket with full-time work. Many prepare at 5:30 within the morning.

Papua New Guinea are making their T20 World Cup debut.

They have already acclimatised to situations within the Gulf having been in Oman for a month.

“It is really a proud moment for me and the boys,” mentioned PNG skipper Assad Vala.

Bangladesh have only one victory on the event since 2007 however with a world rating of six, might be closely fancied to make the second spherical.

They go into the event with home sequence wins over Australia, New Zealand and Zimbabwe underneath their belts.

England slender favourites?

The Scots have fallen on the first hurdle of their three earlier T20 World Cup appearances, in 2007, 2009 and 2016.

They claimed their first and solely win on the event 5 years in the past — an eight-wicket triumph in a rain-affected match towards lowly Hong Kong.

Once the qualifying is accomplished, many see Eoin Morgan’s England as slender favourites to turn out to be double world champions.

The high nations will be part of the occasion — performed in stadiums 70% full — on October 23, with Australia and South Africa assembly within the opener of the Super 12 stage and England up towards West Indies.

England beat New Zealand to win the 50-over title at Lord’s in 2019.

Morgan’s group will, nonetheless, be with out Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, who performed key roles of their one-day World Cup triumph.

England needed to defend 19 runs within the final over of the 2016 T20 last in Kolkata however West Indies’ Carlos Brathwaite famously hit Stokes for 4 straight sixes, giving the Caribbeans their second world T20 title.

Many of that profitable group might be again, led by Kieron Pollard and previous warfare horses Dwayne Bravo, 38, and 42-year-old Chris Gayle.

Asian giants India will start their marketing campaign towards arch-rivals and fellow former champions Pakistan on October 24 with Virat Kohli trying to exit with a bang earlier than stepping down as captain of the T20 aspect.

India eye repeat

Kohli will search to repeat India’s triumph within the inaugural event in 2007.

The Indian Premier League, which wrapped up on Friday, allowed many stars the prospect to get used to the UAE pitches.

Glenn Maxwell, for instance, scored 513 runs, together with six half-centuries, on the earth’s hottest cricket league, a efficiency that may increase Australia’s hopes of a maiden T20 title.

Trans-Tasman neighbours New Zealand, led by Kane Williamson, will even be eyeing two successive world crowns after they received the inaugural Test championship, beating India within the last in June.

The event format

This 12 months’s Men’s T20 World Cup takes place in three levels.

Round 1 sees two teams of 4 groups collaborating in a round-robin. The high two groups from every group progress to the Super 12 stage. Each of the Round 1 Groups options three groups from the 2019 Qualifier and one of many two automated qualifiers – Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The high seed from Group A and the second seed from Group B enter Group 1 of the Super 12s, with the highest seed from Group B and the second seed from Group A going into Group 2.

The Super 12 stage sees two teams of six play a round-robin with the highest two groups from every group progressing to the knock-out stage, consisting of two semi-finals and a last.

The two Super 12 teams every characteristic 4 of the automated qualifiers – event hosts India and the highest seven groups on the MRF Tyres ICC rankings on the closing date – and two Round 1 qualifiers.

The factors system

In each group levels the next factors system will apply:

Win — Two factors

Tie, no end result or deserted — One level

Loss or forfeit — Zero factors

Are there reserve days?

Yes, for each semi-finals and the ultimate. No different matches shall have a reserve day allotted.

Key dates

Tournament commences: 17 October

The occasion kicks off with a Round 1, Group B match between co-hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea at Oman Cricket Academy Ground in Al Amerat. Later that day, Group B opponents Bangladesh and Scotland start their marketing campaign towards each other on the identical venue.

Group A begins the next day in Abu Dhabi, with Ireland and Netherlands taking part in the afternoon match, and Sri Lanka and Namibia the night encounter.

Round 1 finishes: 22 October

Round 1 concludes after a Group A Namibia-Ireland and Sri Lanka-Netherlands double-header at Sharjah.

Group B’s last matches happen in a double-header at Oman Cricket Academy on 21 October.

The high two groups from every group progress to the Super 12 stage.

Super 12 stage commences: 23 October

The Super 12 stage of the event kicks off only a day after Round 1 concludes, with Group 1 sides Australia and South Africa assembly in Abu Dhabi.

Group 2 begins the next day with a mouth-watering conflict between India and Pakistan in Dubai

Super 12 stage concludes: 8 November

The Super 12 stage wraps up on 8 November with India taking part in the ultimate match of the section at Dubai towards their group’s Round 1 Group A qualifier.

Semi-finals: 10 November and 11 November

The high two groups from every Super 12 Group progress to the semi-finals, scheduled to be performed at Abu Dhabi and Dubai on 10 and 11 November respectively.

Final: 14 November

The event reaches its conclusion on 14 November at Dubai International Stadium.