Qasim, Shoaib raise CP in National T20 Cup conflict in opposition to Northern

MULTAN: Central Punjab (CP) captain Qasim Akram and veteran batter Shoaib Malik led the cost of their remaining group stage encounter of the continued National T20 Cup 2022 in opposition to Northern with a fifty every, serving to the facet end third within the standings.

Set to chase 163, the fifties from Qasim and Shoaib powered CP to seal a much-needed victory to complete the group stage of the match on a excessive after a dismal begin.

The CP had been off to a poor begin to the run chase because the facet misplaced each openers Faizan Khan and Muhammad Akhlaq at a mere 33 within the fifth over.

Top-order batter Tayyab Tahir, who had a exceptional match to this point, stored scoring at a speedy tempo however failed quick on the cusp of the batting powerplay as he fell to Salman Irshad for 23.

Following the hunch, Shoaib and Qasim stood up for his or her facet and placed on a match-defining 100-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

The pair appeared stable and had been trying assured to steer the CP over the road earlier than Zaman Khan struck within the 18th over to take away Qasim for 58. He confronted 37 deliveries in the middle of his good knock and smashed eight boundaries.

Right-handed skilled batter Shoaib, however, remained unbeaten and top-scored for the facet with 62 off 39 deliveries, laced with six boundaries and two sixes.

For Northern, Mehran Mumtaz, Sohail Tanvir, Zaman, and Salman made one scalp every.

Batting first, Norther completed at a below-par 162/5 within the allotted 20 overs regardless of an impressive knock from the opening batter Nasir Nawaz. He top-scored for the facet with 82 off 57 deliveries, laced with six boundaries and 4 sixes.

Besides Nasir, not one of the Northern batters might contribute considerably and the facet, because of this, didn’t amass an enormous rating. Skipper Umar Amin chipped in with 31 however remained a contact too sluggish as he confronted 29 deliveries within the proceedings.

For CP, Aamer Yamin led the way in which with three wickets, whereas Hunain Shah and Faizan Khan struck out a batter every.

READ: Chameera, Kumara return as Sri Lanka unveils squad for T20 World Cup 

Recent Articles

Related Stories