Pakistan vs Bangladesh: Pakistan rattle Bangladesh high order

Pakistan vs Bangladesh: Pakistan rattle Bangladesh high order

Pakistan give Test cap to Abdullah Shafique, Yasir Ali makes his debut for Bangladesh

By AFP & Web Desk

November 26, 2021

Shaheen Afridi celebrates the wicket of Said Hassan with his teammates. -AFP
Shaheen Afridi celebrates the wicket of Said Hassan together with his teammates. -AFP

CHITTAGONG: Pakistan’s bowlers struck early to scale back Bangladesh to 69 for 4 at lunch on the opening day of the primary Test in Chittagong on Friday.

At the break on the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Mushfiqur Rahim was on 5 and Liton Das on 10.

Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf and Sajid Khan every claimed a wicket to place the hosts in hassle after Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque received the toss and elected to bat first.

Afridi set the tone for Pakistan with a gem of a supply within the fifth over that rose sharply to look off opener Saif Hasan´s bat to Abid Ali at quick leg. He made 14.

Hasan then trapped the opposite opener Shadman Hossain leg-before for 14.

Skipper Mominul fell quickly afterwards, scoring simply six as Sajid spun one sharply to take an edge that was gladly accepted by wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan.

The umpire initially declared Mominul not out however the determination was overruled on evaluation.

Najmul Hossain received off the mark with a 4 however he too perished quickly reducing a Faheem supply straight to Sajid at level.

Pakistan handed batsman Abdullah Shafique a Test debut whereas Yasir Ali was making a Test debut for Bangladesh within the two-match collection.

‘Dream come true’

Babar Azam gave the cap to Abdullah Shafique after which he grew to become the 246th participant to play Test cricket for Pakistan.

Expressing his pleasure on this event, Abdullah Shafique stated it’s the want of each cricketer to symbolize his nation in Test cricket. “Today, my dream has come true and I am very happy about it.”

Shafique stated he has discovered loads from his senior gamers and can do his finest to carry out nicely within the match.

As per the batting order, Abid Ali will open with the debutant.

Pakistan has a assured and settled middle-order with Azhar Ali, Babar Azam and Fawad Alam, adopted by wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan at No.6.

Bangladesh won’t have skilled Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan as the 2 should not accessible owing to their accidents.


Pakistan have performed three collection in Bangladesh and received 5 of the six Tests, with their final win in Dhaka in May 2015 by 328 runs. Azhar Ali and Mushfiqur Rahim are the one gamers from both sides to take part in that match.

Azhar had scored 226 and 25, whereas Mushfiq scored 12 and nil as Azhar walked away with the participant of the match, which will even be remembered for hundreds of years from Younis Khan (148) and Asad Shafiq (107) in addition to match figures of 36.3-7-128-7 by Yasir Shah, who will miss the collection as he’s but to get well from a thumb damage he sustained through the National T20.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (capt), Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan, Faheem Ashraf, Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sajid Khan

Bangladesh: Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Saif Hassan

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid Saikat (BAN)

TV umpire: Gazi Sohel (BAN)

Match referees: Neeyamur Rashid (BAN)