India play Malik and Chahal; New Zealand bowl in Indore

New Zealand chose to bowl vs India

Rohit Sharma said he would have batted first anyway because defending on such a small ground will be difficult, and he said he wanted to put the team in tougher situations. Having decided they were going to bat first, India threw their spinners a big challenge as they picked three of them in their XI. India’s two in-form bowlers, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami, were rested for Umran Malik and Yuzvendra Chahal. It was only the third time since the 2019 World Cup that an Indian ODI XI featured both Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

India’s coach Rahul Dravid had hinted they might go easy on the fast bowlers who will be playing in the Test series against Australia in February.

India have won the series 2-0 already, but the ICC No. 1 ODI ranking is at stake in today’s game. New Zealand sat atop the table at the start of the series, but win will take India past England to No. 1.

India 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Ishan Kishan (wk), 5 Suryakumar Yadav, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik

New Zealand 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Henry Nicholls, 4 Daryl Mitchell, 5 Tom Latham (capt & wk), 6 Glenn Phillips, 7 Michael Bracewell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Jacob Duffy, 10 Blair Tickner, 11 Lockie Ferguson