ICC declares new format for T20 World Cup 2024

- Advertisement -

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday, introduced a brand new format for the largest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024, scheduled to be hosted within the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

The file 20-team T20 World Cup will happen in two phases earlier than the knockout phases.

In a press launch, despatched out by the ICC, the cricket governing physique confirmed 12 groups already booked their spot within the forthcoming mega occasion.

“The top two teams in each of the four groups of five will move to a Super Eight phase, where the remaining sides will be split into two groups of four,” ICC said.

“The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals,” the assertion added.

Consequently in addition to hosts USA and West Indies, Pakistan, India, South Africa, Netherlands, New Zealand, England, Australia and Sri Lanka booked their spot within the subsequent version of the T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, the remaining better-ranked Afghanistan and Bangladesh additionally certified for T20 World Cup 2024.

The remaining eight spots for the 2024 version might be decided by way of regional qualifiers.

Two groups every will qualify from Africa, Asia, and Europe whereas one staff every from the Americas and EAP areas will make their approach into the worldwide occasion.

It is pertinent to say that England edged Pakistan by 5 wickets in T20 World Cup 2022 Final to carry their second title.

READ: Shadab praises Hasan’s robust gesture after exclusion from Test squad 

Recent Articles

Related Stories