Anti discrimination law by democrats for non-immigrants

House Democrats passed by a vote of 218-208 on Wednesday the "National Origin-Based Anti discrimination for Non-Immigrants Act" to respond to former President Donald Trump's attempt.

Democrats in the House of Representatives are said to have passed a bill called the Anti discrimination law prohibiting future US presidents from enacting a “Muslim ban.”

House Democrats passed by a vote of 218-208 on Wednesday the “National Origin-Based Anti discrimination for Non-Immigrants Act” to respond to former President Donald Trump’s attempt to curb illegal immigrants and the actions of terrorists in the United States.

In 2017, Trump signed a “Muslim ban” that effectively bans immigrants from Muslim-majority countries that have been identified as terror threats to the US.
House Representative Bill 1333, or the “National Origin-Based Anti discrimination For Non-Immigrants Act,” is introduced by California Democrat Representative Judy Chu.

Last February 25, she presented the bill in the House, which was referred to the House Judiciary Committee, the Foreign Affairs Committee, the Homeland Security Committee, the Intelligence Committee, and the Senate-Judiciary Committee for review.

The President’s power to suspend or restrict aliens’ entry into the United States is limited under this bill. It also forbids religious discrimination in various immigration-related decisions, such as whether to issue an immigrant or nonimmigrant visa, unless a statutory justification for such discrimination exists, according to the Bill’s Summary.

“After the Department of State determines that the restriction would address specific and credible facts that threaten U.S. interests such as security or public safety,” the Anti discrimination law summary continued, “the President may temporarily restrict the entry of any aliens or class of aliens.”

“The bill also imposes limits on certain prohibitions, such as requiring the President, State Department, and Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to (1) only issue a restriction when necessary to meet a compelling government interest, and (2) narrowly customize the suspension to achieve such an interest using the least restrictive means possible.”

Before implementing any controls, the State Department and DHS will have to consult with Congress, according to the Summary. The two federal agencies would also be required to notify Congress of any restriction they expect to impose “within 48 hours of the restriction’s imposition,” and failure to do so would result in the restriction being “immediately terminated.”

Any person or entity currently residing in the United States who is “unlawfully injured by such a restriction” can file a legal complaint in federal court, according to the Summary of the Anti discrimination law. Meanwhile, “the Department of Homeland Security can suspend aliens’ entry to the United States if a commercial airline fails to comply with regulations related to detecting fraudulent travel documents.”

Prior to Trump, the Christian Post reported

Prior to Trump, the Christian Post reported that former President Barack Obama signed the Visa Waiver Improvement Program And Terrorist Travel Prevention Act in 2015, which designated Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Sudan, and Yemen as “countries of concern.” When President Joe Biden took office, the travel ban was lifted, but a travel ban on immigrants from Brazil was enforced.