Adam Milne returns as New Zealand bowl in series decider; India unchanged

Toss New Zealand chose to bowl vs India

For a third time in the series, the coin landed in New Zealand captain Kane Williamson’s favour and he had no hesitation in opting to bowl under overcast skies and on what he called a surface with a “green tinge” in the final ODI against India in Christchurch. This was after the toss was delayed by 15 minutes due to a drizzle.

While New Zealand brought back fast bowler Adam Milne for spin-bowling allrounder Michael Bracewell – who bowled just two overs after coming in in the rain-affected second match – India opted to go unchanged. That meant Sanju Samson was again confined to the bench with Deepak Hooda getting a go.

New Zealand’s record at the Hagley Oval is an enviable one, having lost just one ODI at the venue. Moreover, sides chasing have won each of the last three matches in the format. The hosts are yet to lose an ODI at home since 2019, when they lost to India.

For India, it is a matter of equalling the series, having lost the first game before rain put paid to their hopes in the second.

New Zealand: 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Daryl Mitchell, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Glenn Phillips, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Adam Milne, 9 Matt Henry, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Lockie Ferguson

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Shreyas Iyer, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Deepak Chahar, 9 Umran Malik, 10 Arshdeep Singh, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal